About Our Honorary Chair

Chef Ken Frank

Chef Ken Frank

This year we are fortunate to honor and recognize Ken Frank, chef and owner of La Toque for his impact in Napa Valley fine dining, his commitment to our community, and his generous support of Providence Community Health Foundation Napa Valley.


An early pioneer of seasonally driven fine dining, Chef Ken Frank has been in relentless pursuit of deliciousness since his teenage years living in France. Ken first achieved national acclaim in 1977, as the 21-year-old Chef of La Guillotine Restaurant. A pioneer for the time, he insisted on using only the freshest and best seasonal ingredients. He went on to work as the original opening chef at Michael’s in Santa Monica, considered the Los Angeles birthplace of “California Cuisine.”


In 1979, at age 23, he left Michael’s to open the first La Toque on the Sunset Strip, aiming to create the kind of restaurant he wanted to work at – authentic, creative, welcoming, and delicious. From the outset, La Toque distinguished itself for Ken’s attention to seasonality, hospitality, and thoughtful wine pairing. In 1998, he finally heeded the call of wine country and moved to Napa Valley, where he opened a new La Toque in Rutherford. Ten successful years later, Ken moved La Toque to its current home in downtown Napa’s Oxbow District, at the Westin Verasa hotel.


Ken joins an illustrious group of our honorary chairs including Michelle and Robin Baggett, Jean-Charles Boisset, Eileen Crane, Mary Cunningham Agee, Leslie and Rich Frank, Gina Gallo, Thomas Keller, Beth Nickel, Dario Sattui, Emma Swain, Clarke and Elizabeth Swanson, and the Torres and Rombauer families.

Scroll to Top